More adjustments on Assessment 1

I have added to my experimental piece of work and have used more techniques from producers to develop the task further.

I have chosen to use subtractive EQ on the vocals which is a technique used by Brian Eno. Known for ‘Discreet Music’ which uses three variations of Johann Pachelbel’s ‘Canon’ in D Major.

I followed on by using more of Frank Zappa’s ideas by adding a guitar solo line towards the end of the piece which is something he has done often: Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention – Inca Roads. ‘Xenocrony’ is again present but this time taking samples from AC/DC – Back in Black including the hi hat rhythm and a famous riff, this was inserted into the piece and repeated so it fitted the timing of the music I had already composed. I also cut up pieces I had recorded through vocals and guitar and repeated them or slotted them into different points of the piece so it sounds disjointed but still flows as one piece. 

I played notes on my guitar and used effects from the Line 6 Pod Farm to create sounds that you are unable to determine the source it was produced from, i.e sounding like a synth sound, a noise perhaps using vocals. This is a technique used by Trent Reznor who makes his pieces around electronic and industrial sounds. 

The main basis for my research has been through using Virgil Moorefield – The Producer as Composer, also many Sound on Sound articles, focussing mainly on Frank Zappa and Trent Reznor as producers. 

 

 

Leave a comment